What A Difference 9 Months Makes – How Blogging Saved Me

I read a lot today. I read my own writing, from my first blog post up until now. In hindsight, I believe this blog saved me from a much darker fate. The act of putting something in writing for the world to see, be it an idea or a thought, an emotion or a desire has strengthened my will to achieve my dreams, and I am proud to say that since the time I started writing publicly, my life has completely changed for the better.

It was sad to read many of my posts. The first 3 months I spent blogging was a very bad time in my life, wrought with depression and other vices that were leading me down a rabbit hole I could not see a way out of. The truth of the matter is that I am usually not a very open person. I find it very difficult to confide in people, or even talk about my state in the simplest of terms. Yet in writing, I find myself telling the world, openly, all the things I cannot seem to tell even those people that are closest to me.

I read posts about freedom and failure, materialism and minimalism. I read about my plans to remove all of the clutter from my life and about the way I want to live. As of this moment I am happy with my life. I travel, I see, I do and I feel free. Since leaving Melbourne I have learned, and learned very quickly, just what is important in my life. I own less than I ever thought possible, yet find myself wanting nothing more than a new book occasionally, or a block of chocolate. I live well, I enjoy my work, I eat well and have good accommodation, and all for less than I could have ever imagined.

Perhaps the hardest hitting revelation I had in this process is recalling just how depressed I was in my ‘successful’ life. Were it not for me putting in writing many of my thoughts I would no longer remember just how much I hated my life. The depression I felt now seems so distant, and my blog serves as a reminder to me that my well being is in my own hands. My current situation is a direct effect of acknowledging that I was not happy and making the hard decisions necessary to change. It wasn’t easy. Much of the journey has not been easy. I have had several serious setbacks and many unexpected turns, but never lost sight of my goal. However, no matter how stressful, or how broke and hungry I may have found myself in the process, the depression that once gripped me has loosened its hold and no longer exists.

One thought on “What A Difference 9 Months Makes – How Blogging Saved Me

  1. I am so proud of you; and I envy your strength and determination.

    I think the process of going through your 20s is largely unspoken about; we are a different generation to our parents – our lives and goals and bench marks are completely different. The hard part is that we make comparisons: to each other’s lives, but also, to our parents’ lives, which had totally different social expectations to ours.

    We are just somehow miraculously meant to figure it all out in our 20s; who we are etc.

    You (and I) did all the things we were told to do: finish school, get a good score to get into good course, finish course, get good marks to graduate, get into competative career… Tick tick tick tick tick. Okay; now what?

    The realization that this is it. Nothing more to strive for; but also, “Is this all my life is now?”.

    The concept of packing it all in and changing petrifies me. I envy your strength to start again, to truly look at yourself and your happiness. Biggest hugs to you – I am so proud. X

Leave a Reply

